People actually read this blog!

It’s been over a year since I started this blog with the intention of keeping my friends and family informed of my various travels and adventures away from home. Since then, I’ve also branched out into occasionally writing about sports, technology, or anything else that’s on my mind. So sometimes I wonder who, in addition to my family and friends, actually reads this blog. Well I took a recent look at my blog stats and it looks like I may have more influence or popularity than I initially thought. I was especially surprised when I typed in some of my recent search referrals into Google. Under the queries “lse clubs” and “lse student life,” my post on LSE Student Life shows up on page 2 of the results. And if you type in “kings lse rivalry,” you’ll see me right at the bottom of the first page!

At first I thought perhaps these topics aren’t necessarily popular ones on the web and I rank highly on Google’s algorithms by default. However, I typed “spotify p2p” in and my recent review of the music service showed up on page 3! I would expect this topic to be pretty popular, but there it was.

So what do I conclude from this little experiment? First, I’m going to assume that random people to read my blog because friends and family wouldn’t need to search for it. Since this blog isn’t password protected, I knew this was a possibility and hence I’ve always taken care not to write anything that drastically compromises my security and privacy. Second, while I’m surprised by some of my Google rankings, I’m not reading too much into it. Studies have shown that people usually only click on the top 2-3 search results and very few go beyond the first page. However, that is not to say this blog has no influence at all. Consider the LSE Student Life post. It’s not impossible to imagine a prospective LSE student doing a few searches and clicking on some links further down the page that are not related to the school itself. Also, WordPress does have its own internal blog search engine, and I actually think most of my referrals come from that. The point is, I could very well influence someone’s decision to come to LSE or to use Spotify. That’s the power of the Internet people.

Leave a Reply

